Quality Software Engineering

Long time no see

Wow wordpress.com has changed a lot since the last time I blogged. I’m on a very different journey. While I had a lot of fun with my JS projects, I came to a point where I didn’t feel there was much room to be truly innovative. I also saw a future where many of the projects (like react and angular) would be swallowed up by the ever-evolving DOM and JS API.

In my absence, I found out about hackernews and it’s really broadened my horizons. Mostly HN got me much more interested in the lower-levels of software engineering.

I also went about a 3rd of the way through Andrew Ng’s machine learning course. that was really cool and I enjoy having a basic understanding of how it works. I did however learn that although I tolerate math, it’s not really my passion. I didn’t see any way to innovate in ML without a very deep understand of calculus and proofs. So I moved on.

What I’ve learned about my self is that I like building software. I like creating and constructing the puzzle that is complicated software. If I need to understand algorithms to make that software efficient,  I’m cool with that. Do I want to invent new algos? No.

Going back to my days as a musician, I never liked using samples. I always liked to make my songs from scratch. I’ve found I have the same proclivity with software. But now I want to be able to bring dead metal to life. I want to be able to put a ghost inside the machine – on operating system.

So now I’m studying the Linux kernel. My goal is to be able to write a small Linux distro in rust. I plan to use this blog to document my exploration.

I think I will start with implementing ext2 in Rust.

 

Leave a Reply

